U.S. Trail Orienteering Team

Current U.S. Trail Orienteering rankings

Team USA Standings at WTOC

Congratulations to the 2014 USA Trail Orienteering Team! The standing team is made up of the top 10 ranked U.S. Trail Orienteers in each class who agree to the team guidelines. The team for the World Trail Orienteering Championships is made up of the top 3 ranked U.S. Trail Orienteers in each ass who agree to travel for this competition.

Note that the paralympic team has available spots. Anyone with paralympic qualifying status who might be interested in joining the team should contact the chair of the Trail Orienteering Executive Steering Committee, rules [at] orienteering.org

Clare Durand
Orienteering USA

2014 US Trail Orienteering Standing Team

Open Class:

  • Joe Brautigam
  • Clare Durand
  • Sharon Crawford
  • Peter Goodwin
  • Karl Ahlswede
  • Mike Poulsen
  • Scott Drumm
  • Mika Latva-Kokko
  • Steve Beuerman
  • Richard H. Ebright

Paralympic Class:

  • David Irving
  • Glen Cafferty
  • Cathy Yekenevicz

Team to the 2014 World Trail Orienteering Championships

Open Class:

  • Clare Durand
  • Sharon Crawford
  • Steve Beuerman
  • Alternate: Richard H. Ebright

Paralympic Class:

  • David Irving

2013 Orienteering USA Trail O Squad to World Championship

Clare Durand, 2nd time
Sharon Crawford, 6th time
Peter Goodwin, 1st time
  • 2013 WTOC Results (all)
  • U.S. Results at WTOC 2013 (of 52 competitors, Pre O, Open Competition):
    • 30. Sharon Crawford
    • 41. Clare Durand
    • 48. Peter Goodwin

U.S. Trail Orienteering Standing Team as of January 1, 2013

Open Class
Brautigam, Joseph  WCOC
Durand, Clare           LAOC   
Poulsen, Mike           CROC  
Crawford, Sharon     RMOC  
Goodwin, Peter         UNO 
Ebright, Richard Y.    DVOA  
Ahlswede, Karl          DVOA  
Beuerman, Steve      BAOC 
Sturtevant, Dean       NEOC  
Ebright, Richard H.   DVOA
Paralympic Class 
Irving, David               SDO  
Cafferty, Glen             CROC  

Team Orienteering USA standings at WTOC 2012

2012 Trail O Squad to World Championship

2012 Trail O Standing Team

Team Information

Criteria for the U.S. Trail Orienteering Standing Team

The U.S. Trail Orienteering Standing Team will be composed of the 10 highest-ranked individuals from each class in the U.S. Trail Orienteering Rankings who meet the following conditions:

  1. Have full passport qualifying citizenship for the United States.
  2. Member of Orienteering USA in good standing.
  3. Agree to be an active part of the team.
  4. Participate in Team discussions, elections, and fundraisers.
  5. Agree to represent the USA in International Orienteering Events.
  6. Subscribe to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/USA_Trail-O/, the Official Team communication channel.

If anyone declines to be on the Team the next person down the Ranking list will be selected until the Team is full.

General information about Trail Orienteering and eligibility for the Paralympic competition can be found on the website of the International Orienteering Federation, and also at www.trailo.org. NOTE: Current Trail O rules published by the IOF.

U.S. Trail Orienteering Committees

  • Chairman, Trail-O Standing Team, Executive Steering Committee: Clare Durand, 818-200-7377 (rules [at] orienteeringusa [dot] org)
  • Trail Orienteering Sanctioning and Development: Frank Kuhn, 856-608-9422 (tbaukuhn [at] aol [dot] com)
updated 27 Feburary 2014